Qualification Outline

This qualification reflects the role of workers in the community and/or residential setting who follow an individualised plan to provide person-centred support to people who may require support due to ageing, disability or some other reason. Work involves using discretion and judgement in relation to individual support as well as taking responsibility for own outputs.

Workers have a range of factual, technical and procedural knowledge, as well as some theoretical knowledge of the concepts and practices required to provide person-centred support.

Students who enrol* in Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing) must successfully complete all three Aged Specialisation Electives plus three additional electives out of the Other Electives listed in the Units of Study index as well as all placement requirements to be awarded this qualification.

Placement Requirements

During the course, students complete 120 hours of clinical placement to practice their skills under supervision in a health or community setting. Placement will help students to develop and consolidate skills and knowledge in a clinical environment. Placement also allows students to become familiar with employer expectations and broaden industry understanding.

100{cb6e6e6d7706a955b25d9dee4a54d9a194f1cd8ee27e7a05ab0385a36e400875} attendance of placement is required.

A current First Aid certificate is required prior to placement. Students will also need a current Police Check, Working with Children Check and an updated immunisation record. (Any costs associated with these documents are at the students’ expense.)

This placement will be offered at selected providers and depends on placement availability.

Enrolment period for this qualification is 18 months

Note: that the student tuition fees as published may be subject to change given individual circumstances at enrolment.

Units of Study

The Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing) consists of 13 units: 7 compulsory core units and 6 elective units.
All Ageing specialisation electives are compulsory for this qualification.

Core Units

CHCCCS015 Provide individualised support

CHCCCS023 Support independence and well being

CHCCOM005 Communicate and work in health or community services

CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people

CHCLEG001 Work legally and ethically

HLTAAP001 Recognise healthy body systems

HLTWHS002 Follow safe work practices for direct client care

Elective Units-Ageing

CHCAGE001 Facilitate the empowerment of older people

CHCAGE005 Provide support to people living with dementia

CHCCCS011 Meet personal support needs

Elective Units-Other

HLTINF001 Comply with infection prevention and control policies and procedures

CHCCCS017 Provide loss and grief support

CHCPAL001 Deliver care services using a palliative approach

HLTHPS006 Assist clients with medication

HLTAID003 Provide first aid